The Flaming Vegan

A Vegan and Vegetarian Blogging Extravaganza

25 Things You May Have Thought Were Vegan
Facebook Tweet Google+ Pinterest Email More Sharing Options

25 Things You May Have Thought Were Vegan

After being vegetarian for quite a few years and vegan for around 3 now, I have researched my butt off and have become aware of many things that aren't vegan, even if they may seem to be. However, upon further research, there are a few things in this list that I wasn't aware of, or didn't even think about - Such as black tattoo dyes and certain "vegetarian foods", which aren't vegetarian at all.

I know it can be overwhelming sometimes, but don't be too hard on yourself if you are feeling a little lost with things that are vegan/not vegan. If you are new to it all, just go easy and do what you can and you'll gradually learn more and more and then you'll eventually not have to think about it so much, since you'll already know what you can eat and what you may want to avoid. :)

Hopefully you will all learn at least one knew fact from this list! Please please, comment if you have any additional things that I haven't mentioned in this post!

Things that Aren't (always) Vegan:

  1. Worcestershire SauceAnchovies, however there are vegan brands
  2. Marshmallows - Gelatin, there are vegan brands though, thank goodness!)
  3. AltoidsGelatin
  4. White Sugar - Not all sugar is processed using bone char, but some still are. Your body really doesn't need white sugar, so you're better finding a healthier sweetener anyway :)
  5. Some Beers/Wines - Some beers (Guiness) and wines are clarified using gelatin, isinglass (fish bladders), bone marrow, casein… Here is a list of which alcoholic beverages are vegan and which are not: http://www.barnivore.com/ (Yay! My fave beer (Grolsch) is vegan friendly!...phew!) 
  6. Jello/Jelly - Gelatin
  7. Frosted Mini Wheats - Contains gelatin, but the Kashi brand is gelatin-free!
  8. Apple Juice - Some apple juices are clarified using the bladder of fish, isinglass
  9. Some jams - Some contain gelatin
  10. Certain gummy candies - gelatin
  11. Paintballs - Apparently most contain gelatin
  12. Tattoo ink - While there are some plant-based dyes, a lot of the black inks are made from charcoal made by burning animal bones. Who knew? I didn’t.
  13. Galaxy Brand Veggie Slices – Not vegan or dairy free. What. 
  14. Red Dyes – Many red dyes are coloured using the scales of tiny insects (Can be listed in the ingredients as Natural Red #4)
  15. Seasoned/BBQ-flavoured chips/crisps - Many contain traces of milk and/or animal fat 
  16. Non-dairy Creamer – Contains caseinate, which is derived from milk. 
  17. Dry-roasted Peanuts - At least the Planters kind, contains gelatin
  18. MorningStar Veggie “Sausage” Patties – traces of dairy 
  19. Certain Canned vegetable soups – can be made with beef stock.
  20. Certain Orange Juice brands – Fish oil and lanolin. 
  21. Dryer Sheets/Detergents – Many dryer sheet brands/cleaners aren’t vegan. 
  22. Some Vitamins/Supplements – Many kinds contain animal bi-products, especially in the capsules/casings. 
  23. Some chewing gums – Animal-derived glycerin, not to mention aspartame. Ick.
  24. Soda/Cola – Many contain insect-derived dyes and other animal bi-products. 
  25. Minute Maid Grapefruit Juice – insect-derived dyes.  

 

And on the other end… here is an awesome list of foods that ARE vegan that you may not have been aware of! http://www.petakids.com/accvegan.asp  

 

I hope something in there was helpful! :)

Ciao, thanks for reading my dears!

--Clare

Healthy Snacks Delivered Monthly

Leave a Comment

  1. Granny Smith
    Granny Smith
    This is very good to know. I knew a lot of these items but there is a few on your list that I had no idea about before. I guess it is because I never buy them so never thought about them being vegan or non vegan. Thank you for sharing
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      My pleasure! I was a bit surprised by a couple of things too. It's crazy where animal bi-products pop up. ;\ Thanks for reading! --Clare
      Log in to reply.
  2. sheljc
    sugar free altoids are still gelatin free as far as i know. :)
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      ah yes, looks like you're right! Looks like a couple may use insect-derived dyes though. There are some xylitol-based mints out there that taste somewhat similar to altoids. :)
      Log in to reply.
  3. Julie Sinclair
    Julie Sinclair
    This is an interesting list you have created here. I need to inform my daughter to stop buying some of these items for the grand children. My grandson can eat a box of frosted mini wheats in one sitting. This is a must to take away from him now. Voted for you and hope to find out a lot more information in the days to come
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      I'm glad you were able to learn something new in this post, Julie! I had only just realized frosted mini wheats contained gelatine. Luckily there are vegan brands that have a very similar taste.
      Log in to reply.
  4. Jose Rodriguez
    Interesting list.
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      Thanks for checking out my latest post x --Clare :)
      Log in to reply.
  5. Arvi Kuld
    Enjoy your blog
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      Many thanks for reading! x --Clare :)
      Log in to reply.
  6. pftsusan
    pftsusan
    Educational list. Voted.
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      Thanks very much! :) --Clare
      Log in to reply.
  7. alorinna
    The Morningstar Farms veggie sausage patties (and most of their products) have egg whites.
    Log in to reply.
  8. Veganara
    Veganara
    Voted. Great informational blog, thanks for this. Some of the products are very surprising. I can assure you of one of my favourite foods which is definitely vegan though - nuts! I write about them in my latest blog, I'm Nuts about Nuts! :-)
    Log in to reply.
  9. Zoe Watson
    Very interesting and informative
    Log in to reply.
  10. Tonya Kubo
    Tonya Kubo
    My surprising find was that Cool-Whip, the original "non-dairy" topping now contains milk-derived ingredients.
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      Oh, that's unfortunate, but not surprising. ;/ I haven't been able to find a vegan whip topping, so I've been making my own out of coconut milk lately.
      Log in to reply.
  11. janetvande
    What is in dryer sheets that isn't vegan?
    Log in to reply.
    1. Clare
      Clare
      Certain brands contain animal-derived gelatin and some are tested on animals. You can find plenty of vegan dryer sheets though.
      Log in to reply.
  12. The Vegan Beanie
    Well shoot, I am going to have to find a new creamer for my coffee. Thank you for the post.
    Log in to reply.
  13. bsowell7
    I admit, none of those are surprising, however, I am very sad about the Morning Star sausages because they are supremely delicious. :(
    Log in to reply.

Explore

Connect with The Flaming Vegan

Sign Up to Vote!

10 second sign-up with Facebook or Google

Already a member? Log in to vote.