Easter is synonymous with chocolate - think of those old school, delicious, mallow-filled chocolate eggs. As a vegan, however, those chocolates do not have the same allure anymore, as a result of their associated animal products.
Chocolate mallow Easter eggs usually contain egg albumen and/or beef gelatin. Gelatin is made by boiling skin, ligaments, tendons and/or the bones of animals with water. It is usually derived from pigs or cows. Besides for gelatin, there is always the ever-presence of milk in chocolate, making you feel that you won’t be able to eat any chocolate for the festivities.
If you are hosting Easter celebrations at your home this year or you have children who will miss indulging in mallow eggs, there are some vegan chocolate alternatives right on the internet. Dig in with vegan chocolate options that are not only going to satisfy your choccie craving, but impress you with their creativity.
Here are some top picks:
Here you’ll find a variety of vegan-friendly chocolate bunnies, eggs filled with crunchy and tasty peanut butter, and dark chocolate eggs.
Fun vegan treats, such as rice crispy bunnies, and dark chocolate with the extra flavouring of delicious coconut or blackberry. Definitely something the kids will love!
Check out the range of nut-free, dairy-free, gluten-free and vegan chocolates. This is the site to visit if your sweet treats require fussy scrutiny. Check out the truffles, rabbit peanot cups that contain a nut-like filling, and the fun Easter basket that contains a chocolate bunny and eggs.
And now the piece de resistance! Lemon marshmallow-filled chocolate bunnies. Enough said, right? Lagusta’s Luscious has a range of mouth-watering Easter (and loads of other) goodies you simply have to try this year. A wonderful idea for dessert if you're hosting Easter lunch.
*Image courtesy Flickr creative commons.