You might think that honey is safe to consume if you’re vegan, but there are issues with it.
- Honey is an animal product. It is produced by bees consuming nectar from flowers and then regurgitating it. So honey can be seen as an animal product such as eggs or milk. Honey also contains animal ferments and protein.
- Honey harms the bees. Did you know that bees feel pain when they are exploited for their products, such as beeswax? It is impossible for beekeepers to prevent hurting bees when they are extracting the wax from them. Added to this, bees produce honey to survive through the winter months, so if we are stealing their honey then we are preventing them from surviving. Bees work hard for the honey and are often exploited or killed for it.
- Bees Provide Much of Our Food. Bees are vital to our health because they pollinate flowers on fruit trees. Without this service, we wouldn’t have fruit on many trees. And it’s not just fruit. About 1/3 of all US crops depend on bees pollinating them! So without bees, we would lose 1/3 of our produce. That is a scary fact.
- How to Replace Honey
We all need a bit of sweetness from time to time, and luckily there are alternatives to honey to satisfy your craving. Try coconut nectar that is made from the reduced sap of coconut palms. It is high in vitamins while being low-glycaemic. Another idea is to make your own date paste. Dates are sweet and delicious. All you need to do is soak dates in water or apple juice for about an hour and then blend the mixture in a food processor. You can use this date paste on many things, such as cereals or yogurt. Yum! It can be stored for up to a week in your refrigerator.
photo credit: <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/_flood_/6306957498/">FlÐ¾Ð¾d</a> via <a href="http://photopin.com">photopin</a> <a href="http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/">cc</a>