Mexico is a popular tourist destination, but it can be a challenge for vegans if you aren't sure what to look for. If you tend to stick to the beaten track to make sure you always have vegan options, consider going on an adventure in Mexico. It's easier than you might think.
Where to Eat
One of the biggest advantages of Mexico is the abundance of fresh, local fruit and vegetables. If you are willing to cook for yourself, you'll find no shortage of amazing ingredients. Simply hit the market in the town you're visiting and you can find a wide variety of food to take home.
You might be surprised to find vegan restaurants in many of the larger cities, such as Mexico City, Cancun and Guadelajara. Check online for reviews before choosing one and you will be sure to get some great food.
A good option is to find a Middle Eastern restaurant, as they usually have plenty of vegan choices on the menu.
Don't Miss Out!
Finding really awesome local cuisine is part of the fun of travelling, so don't miss out just because you aren't sure about food. Ask! You should definitely try the local fruits and vegetables. You'll find plenty of tropical ones that are delicious. Even if you've had mangoes and dragonfruit at home, it just doesn't compare to the fresh ones that were picked earlier this morning.
Be sure to wash and disinfect any fresh produce. You'll find bottles of vegetable disinfectant in the stores or you can simply use some bleach in purified water and let the vegetables sit for 10-15 minutes. Even items that can be peeled should be washed since you can pass the grime from the outside to the inside if you're not careful.
Frescos and liquados are two delicious fruit drinks that are well worth trying. While liquados can be made with milk, you can request that they are merely water and fruit. The results are refreshing and tasty.
What to Watch Out For
Many Mexicans, particularly in smaller towns and away from tourist centers, will not really know what vegan means. You should ask what the food is made with so you can make your own decision as to whether or not it is vegan, since asking if it is vegan will not necessarily get you the truth.
Rice in Mexico is frequently made with chicken broth, so don't assume that it is a vegan option. You can ask. Most restaurants will be more than happy to give you an ingredient list or even to create a special dish just for you. Don't hesitate to ask!
You'll probably want to take a phrasebook or electronic translator if you don't speak Spanish. It's very useful if you want to find out what is in the food or if you want to ask for a specific ingredient.