This is a question that has crossed my mind a million times! So I started researching over the weekend; even though the first thought that crossed my mind was that chocolates are made from cocoa beans, which come from plants, so yes they are vegan. But I wasn't completely convinced about that fact. After all, chocolates are made by combining other ingredients as well. For instance, milk, sugar, fats and so on. So I read up a little more.
So even though chocolate is extracted from cocoa beans, one can’t really assure that they are 100% vegan as most low quality chocolates will use milk and other dairy products. These varieties include both milk and dark chocolate, so be careful while buying them.
But after some research, I realized that high quality chocolates don’t usually use any dairy products. In fact, they are made from pure cocoa, cocoa butter, sugar, lecithin, and vanilla for flavour. Since chocolates are high in flavonoids, which have high antioxidant qualities, it gives everyone a good enough reason to consume them, right?
I also came across certain chocolates in my research that were made with almond milk and rice milk. Their reviews were pretty good, so I’m sure that they are worth a try! Always read the ingredients mentioned on the back of the chocolate wrapper, this will help you understand if that particular chocolate is 100% vegan.
So this means that there are some 100% vegan chocolates out there for vegans like us. This will help us prepare all the amazing chocolate vegan recipes that are on The Flaming Vegan blog!
Some other companies have started selling chocolate vegan biscuits and cereals too, which makes life so much better. Did you also know that vegan Twix bars have hit the market and are available for us all? So go ahead and enjoy all the vegan chocolates in the market, because why not?
Hope you liked this article! Do let me know in the comments below; I would love to hear vegan chocolate recommendations as well!
Photograph Courtesy: Flickr's Creative Commons.