The Flaming Vegan

A Vegan and Vegetarian Blogging Extravaganza

5 Surprising Products That Are NOT Vegan
Facebook Tweet Google+ Pinterest Email More Sharing Options

5 Surprising Products That Are NOT Vegan

There are certain products that might seem to be vegan, but are most decidedly not. If you've done your research, you may already know about these, but there are a lot of things out there that you might not be aware contain animal products. Let's take a look at a few.

White sugar - Seems safe enough, right? What more can sugar have it it? Well, it might surprise you to find that some white sugar has animal bones it it. Since sugar isn't naturally bleached, a process involving charred bones is used to create the white look. Opt for turbinado sugar or unrefined sweetener instead.

Orange juice - Juice really should contain just the product of the fruit it uses, but this may not be the case. Juice that has been enhanced must be checked carefully. Any juices with Omega-3 may contain fish oil or gelatin. Vitamin D may come from lanolin, which is from sheep. 

Refried beans - Did you know that many Mexican restaurants use lard in their beans. This is something that you might not even notice and may not be mentioned even if you ask if a meal is vegan.

Peanuts - Packaged peanuts seem to be pretty safe, after all, they are nuts. But some peanuts are coated in gelatin before they are packaged, so make sure you read the ingredients list. 

Soy cheese - This is a pretty standard vegan staple, but soy cheese often contains milk products. The main product is milk casein, which helps give that cheesy texture. Check carefully before buying soy cheese. 

BBQ flavored chips - Do you enjoy a good potato chip from time to time? Just be careful if you're a fan of BBQ. You could be ingesting chicken fat. Most potato chips with this flavoring include it. 

Beer - A nice beer has to be chosen carefully if you are a vegan. The vast majority of beer is filtered using fish bladders. This is because the yeast can leave the beer looking cloudy, which no one wants. Do your research before you head to the bar.

Vegan food is not always as easy to find as it might seem. Never assume that anything is made without animal products. Take the time to do a little research and you will soon learn which items need to be avoided or replaced with a true vegan choice. 

More about vegan, non-vegan, food, products
Healthy Snacks Delivered Monthly

Leave a Comment

  1. Veganara
    Veganara
    Voted. Great blog. I am really surprised at this, thank you for alerting us to it. (Can I be pedantic and point out that you actually have 7 products listed here, not 5? ) You might be interested in my latest blog here, How To Nail Those Vegetables Like A Pro! :-)
    Log in to reply.
    1. Blanca Verome
      Blanca Verome
      You're right, I got carried away and forgot to change the title. Oops!
      Log in to reply.
  2. Melissa Nott
    Melissa Nott
    Voted! I didn't know that about peanuts. Thank you for sharing!
    Log in to reply.
  3. RLRVeg
    Thanks for the post. I have seen anchovies as an ingredient in barbecue potato chips as well!
    Log in to reply.
  4. stevesfe
    Voted. I just checked my almond cheeses and they contain casein!! I'm returning them to Whole Foods tomorrow!
    Log in to reply.
  5. eveie
    While SOME traditional British beers and SOME American craft beer use isinglass (derived from fish, what you refer to as fish bladders) it is rare to do so (and the stuff also drops out of suspension WHEN used) and those beers make up a small selection of available beer. The vast majority of beer is indeed vegan. This is a good definitive list of vegan beers to check out, http://www.barnivore.cosm/beer?region=USA , and I advise you before making such sweeping generalizations in the future to please do your research first. Definitely no vote.
    Log in to reply.

Explore

Connect with The Flaming Vegan

Sign Up to Vote!

10 second sign-up with Facebook or Google

Already a member? Log in to vote.